In the United States of America, 33 states and the District of Columbia have medical cannabis programs. These states accommodate their patients who need medical marijuana to treat their illnesses. Patients are required to secure a medical marijuana card so that they can purchase the medication that they need.

How To Secure A Medical Marijuana Card

There may be nuanced differences from state to state, but the general application process is as follows.

Fill Out The Forms

Patients who need at least 4 ounces of medical marijuana need a Physician Certification Form completed by a licensed physician. Patients who need over 4 ounces of medical marijuana should secure the Alternative Physician Certification Form. Patients below the age of 18 must submit a Parent or Legal Guardian Consent Form. Caregivers need a Patient Authorization Form which contains the license number of the patient.

Registration And Application

Patients may register online after securing the said forms. They must fill out the necessary information and then wait for the application process, which typically takes 30 days. Once approved, the medical marijuana card will be delivered to the patient.

Frequently Asked Questions About Medical Marijuana Cards

Which States Support The Medical Marijuana Program?

  •         Alaska
  •         Arizona
  •         Arkansas
  •         California
  •         Colorado
  •         Connecticut
  •         Delaware
  •         District of Columbia
  •         Florida
  •         Hawaii
  •         Illinois
  •         Louisiana
  •         Maine
  •         Maryland
  •         Massachusetts
  •         Michigan
  •         Minnesota
  •         Missouri
  •         Montana
  •         Nevada
  •         New Hampshire
  •         New Jersey
  •         New Mexico
  •         New York
  •         North Dakota
  •         Ohio
  •         Oklahoma
  •         Oregon
  •         Pennsylvania
  •         Rhode Island
  •         Utah
  •         Vermont
  •         Washington
  •         Washington, D. C.
  •         West Virginia

Which states accept out-of-state medical marijuana cards?

  •         Arkansas
  •         Hawaii
  •         Maine
  •         Nevada
  •         New Hampshire
  •         New Mexico
  •         Oklahoma
  •         Rhode Island
  •         Utah
  •         Washington, D.C.

Which states allow medical marijuana reciprocity?

The general rule is that you can only purchase medical marijuana in states where your medical marijuana is approved. It is not automatically allowed to purchase in a different state just because it is likewise legal. However, there are some states that support medical marijuana reciprocity. This means that they can still sell you medical marijuana for as long as you have an out-of-state MMJ card.


The state of Alaska does not support out-of-state medical marijuana cards but you may purchase up to an ounce for recreational purposes.


Arizona supports reciprocity for visiting qualifying patients. Visiting qualifying patients must own a medical marijuana card from their own state and have not stayed in Arizona for over 30 days. They should also pass Arizona’s medical card criteria.


Arkansas allows reciprocity for patients with out-of-state medical marijuana cards and a completed visiting patient form.  The application form costs $50 and patients are allowed to purchase up to 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana every two weeks.


California allows everyone over the age of 21 to be able to purchase both recreational and medical marijuana. This is limited to 28.5 grams of flower and 5 grams of concentrate.


Visiting patients are allowed to purchase medical marijuana if they have government-issued identification and are 21 years old or above. Tourists are allowed to carry up to an ounce only.


Illinois has legalized recreational marijuana use and possession, capped at 15 grams of cannabis, 25 mg of THC/CBD, and 2.5 grams of cannabis concentrate.

Washington, D.C.

This state supports reciprocity for any other state that has the same medical marijuana program. Cannabis is also legalized for recreational use here. Legal possession is allowed for up to 2 ounces. Consumption should be limited to federal land and private properties.


The state of Maine allows both medical and recreational marijuana usage for individuals who are 21 years old and above. This has been limited to 2.5 ounces of cannabis flower and 5 grams of concentrates.


All adults over the age of 21 may use and possess marijuana. This is limited to 1 ounce of flower and 5 grams of concentrates.


Michigan allows local dispensaries to make independent choices on whether or not they could sell medical marijuana to out-of-state cardholders. This state also allows anyone from the age of 21 to possess up to 15 grams of concentrates and 2.5 ounces of the flower.


Montana supports reciprocity for other states but it is not allowed to bring marijuana into the state. All adults may possess up to an ounce of marijuana.


Nevada allows all adults from the age of 21 and older to use marijuana, both medically and recreationally. It also supports reciprocity for all states. Adults may carry 1 ounce of edibles, 1 ounce of flowers, 3.5 grams of concentrates, and 1 ounce of topical.


Oklahoma likewise supports out-of-state medical marijuana cards. Visiting patients can purchase from local dispensaries by applying for a temporary license. This license is processed within two weeks and costs 100 dollars with a validity of up to 30 days. Adults are allowed to carry up to 3 ounces of marijuana and 1 ounce of concentrates.

Check out MonthLeaf for your monthly supply of cannabis products. Each membership box is tailor-fit to your preferences and conveniently delivered to your doorstep.